by Betty Dravis

Deous - Dark Reflection

Betty Dravis: Hi, Deous. It’s great to see you today. I’m delighted that you took time from your busy job with Area 51 Productions to be with us. Chrissy McVay, author of Soul of the North Wind, recommended you highly. When she told me about your concept for Area 51 Productions, it blew my mind. No one that I know has endeavored to create movies in the same way that you envision. But before we get into that worthy project–since you are not only a film-maker, but also an actor, singer and dancer–tell us a little about your childhood.

I read that you started acting in 1983 at age nine with the Riverside Children’s Theatre in California. My readers are always interested in how artists get started, so how did you first become interested in entertaining? Did your parents push you or was it your own desire?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Thank you, Betty. It’s great to finally be here with you. How did I get started? My parents were both hugely artistic; I grew up around the arts. My mother did plays in New York, just off Broadway, and my father was a musician and a songwriter.

In fourth grade I did a play called How The Grinch Stole Christmas. My teacher, Miss E., thought I should try out, and so I was cast as The Grinch. I absolutely loved the experience. After that, my parents enrolled me in the Riverside Children’s Theatre. The very first play I auditioned for was Alice in Wonderland. I was cast as the White Rabbit. The Children’s Theatre was very much like a weekend school. We had classes on acting, music, and even dance and movement. My love for the arts was set in stone and my parents were, of course, elated.

After we moved to Alaska, I attended school in Nikiski and found they had a dance company led by Phil Morin. It was there I really solidified my appreciation for dance and choreography. Mr. Morin was an incredible teacher and choreographer; my true inspiration for pursuing the dance path.

Fun Memory from the Past – Deous with his sons James, age 5, and Joshua, 9, clowning around on the merry-go-round at the Olympia Lake Fair.

Betty Dravis: Wow, Deous, with such talented parents, it’s natural that you have a grand passion for the entertainment industry. I’m very impressed that you choreographed five musicals and even more ballets by the time you were twenty-one. That’s an astonishing start for one so young. Do you mind sharing the progression of your career and why your family moved to Alaska and other places where you built up an astonishing portfolio?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Sure Betty… After my freshman year in high school my parents, who were now teachers, decided to move to Alaska. My mother believed it was the Last Great Frontier; we had some family friends who moved there and raved about it. I wasn’t excited to leave my whole life (or what I thought was my life) behind. However, as mentioned above, when we landed in Nikiski I was ecstatic to find that artistic outlet to plug into: the Nikiski High School Dance Company.

My parents had developed a new teaching method where they implemented theatre into their curriculum. My father asked me to choreograph the musicals and teach their students. I agreed, on the stipulation that they allot a time solely for dance and allow me to teach dance performance technique.

I don’t think my parents initially realized I planned on teaching anything more complicated than step left, step right. My father and mother kept saying, “I think you’re getting too complicated.” (laughs) But kids are amazing. Unlike adults, if you don’t tell them what they can and can’t do, they will just do it.

Deous teaching stage combat at Pierce College, 2009

The first year and show was when I learned the most. I would set the bar and the students would constantly hit or even surpass my expectations. The hardest part was figuring out what their capabilities were, then setting the bar just out of reach, so they had to stretch themselves. When they hit the goal, I praised them and once again moved the bar just out of reach.

By the third year, it became a game; the kids wanted to see how high Mr. G. (what they called me) could set the bar. Many times I worried they might not be able to hit the goal, but every single time, they succeeded! The very last show I choreographed was a stage adaptation of Walt Disney’s musical Newsies, with extremely complicated dance numbers. The kids tossed newspapers and dove into a roll to catch them. The timing had to be perfect. They did a beautiful job.

When I started attending Kenai Peninsula College (KPC), I discovered Chris Morin (Phil Morin’s wife) was both a professor and the director of the KPC Dance Company, so I got a double-dose of her. Chris was awesome!  She picked up where her husband left off as I continued to train and work on my technique.

Later, I moved to Anchorage and made it into the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA) Dance Repertory and the Alaska Dance Theatre Company. There I focused on Ballet, Modern Haitian and Jazz, as well as method acting. After that I moved to London for a year and started auditioning for shows. I loved London!

Betty Dravis: You continue to amaze me, Deous. Your choreography credits are awesome. Here are a few shows you’ve choreographed: Annie, Pirates Of Penzance, West Side Story, Wizard of Oz, Oliver, three modern ballets: Legend, Both Sides Of The Story, Redemption, and even a stage production of Walt Disney’s Newsies, as you mentioned above.

That’s a broad array of popular shows, Deous, and if any of our readers would like the entire list, they can visit your Internet Movie Database link (at end of this interview). Do you have a favorite production or one that made an immense impression on you and possibly changed your life?

Deous acts out a scene from "Silence of the Lambs" in a Script and Character Analysis session of "Copy the Pros."

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Yes, Betty, I do, actually. While I was studying at Duke, I fell in love with the Pilobolus Dance style. The idea of weight-sharing and partnership that Pilobolus employs was intriguing not only as choreography, but life in general. Life is about a give and take and creating those momentary pictures. We come together, we share and then move on to our next picture, where we repeat the process.

It’s exactly what we are doing in this interview. You and I share ideas, which will be shared in various media, and when your readers read our ideas, it will, in some way, affect them. Hopefully, in a positive way… This is what Pilobolus is all about: the sharing between two bodies as they move though space. I wish everyone would employ this in their daily lives.

Betty Dravis: That’s spot on, Deous, and sounds rather spiritual… But in addition to dance, you’re also an actor and singer. I understand you’ve performed the roles of Tony from West Side Story and The Lizard Man in Side Show. Were those live stage productions? Where did you perform?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: I performed those roles in community theatres in Kenai and Anchorage. I love musicals and because we love the Art so much, my wonderful wife Jackie and some friends privately recorded multiple songs. These include “The Confrontation” and ”This is the Moment” from Jekyll and Hyde, “Where’s the Girl” and “Into the Fire” from Scarlet Pimpernel, “Sunset Boulevard” from Sunset Boulevard. My wife and I also recorded the duet “You are my Home.”

Cast and crew of "Zombie's Life - Doron of the Dead" by Déous Gennari

Betty Dravis: You’re what I call an all-around performer, Deous. I know you’re not a vain man, but I think I would become vain if I could do half of what you do. (laughs)

But something I’m curious about: How did a man with your talents end up spending twelve years in the military? That’s quite a detour from your entertainment career.

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well, Betty… What do I say? (laughs) Life happened. Up to that point I had been active with the National Guard for seven years. After my first Honorable Discharge I decided to return to theatre; that’s when I went to London (partially to escape the memories from the military and part to try to pick up the pieces of my theatre career).

After a year in London, I returned to the States and brought a young lady back with me. Soon after that, we got married and shortly thereafter, she became pregnant, so I had to evaluate the importance of stability for my family. As a result, I joined the Active Duty Army and returned to the medical field. Two years after my son was born, my wife and I divorced. After I was granted custody of my son, he and I started to rebuild our lives again.

I remarried and was deployed to Operation Enduring Freedom. As fate would have it, about six months after getting back I found myself going through another divorce. This time I was completely in the dark and never learned why. She just decided she was leaving, I guess. My son was totally devastated.

After seeing how the divorce affected my son, I decided I wasn’t ever going to remarry or engage in a serious relationship again. I never wanted to be divorced once, let alone twice. There is nothing more crushing than the feeling of losing your family, especially after trying everything you can think of to try and save it. It was then I realized sometimes there is absolutely nothing you can do; sometimes it doesn’t have anything to do with you at all. I realize for many people out there this may not make a lot of sense. Relationships are two-way streets and when one person decides to quit there is nothing the other can do to change that.

I was honorably discharged in November 2005. It took some time, but I finally did remarry. This time I believe I finally found my soul-mate. Jackie is incredible and my best friend. She and I support each other, our endeavors, our children and our dreams. She is my inspiration and my voice of reason.

Betty Dravis: I agree that divorce is devastating, especially when children are involved. I’m glad it worked out for you and you finally found your Jackie. I wish you and your family much happiness and good fortune.

The fates must have conspired with you to keep you in the entertainment industry, Deous. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that you met Ken Dietiker while stationed at Fort Lewis. Since you both enjoy film creation and the arts, did you guys work together after your discharge? And when did you decide to concentrate on the directing/producing end of the business?

Creative Director Ken Dietiker and Deous - Brainstorming Session

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Ken and I lived right next to each other. We wound up spending a lot of time discussing film and movie projects we wanted to see completed. After getting out of the military, I returned to school and decided I wanted to start a film production company. Ken is one of the creative directors (and trouble-shooters) for Area 51 Productions.

Betty Dravis: I’m glad to hear that you and Ken are still working together. Good, loyal, like-minded friends are hard to find.

For a man who made his mark in choreography and the military, Deous, you somehow managed to accumulate six years of college at Kenai Peninsula College, University of Alaska Anchorage, Duke University and Pierce College in Washington State where you now reside. You must be brilliant because in 2009 you made the President’s List holding a GPA of 3.9-4.0, became an Alumni of Phi Theta Kappa and have been published in the Cambridge Who’s Who of Business. Is Pierce College where your deep interest in the academic life began to blend with your love of film?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: I don’t know if I’d call myself “brilliant,” but like my father once said, “There is only one difference between genius and insanity–perspective.” (laughs) Then again, if I had to give a starting point to where the two began to blend, it would definitely be Pierce College. That’s where the inspiration to start Area 51 Productions was born. I was working on a project and realized to complete it properly I would need some money, so I decided to write a business grant and start Area 51 Productions.

Betty Dravis: Before we discuss more about Area 51, let me back-up for a minute. You mentioned your family above, but I’m curious about how you and Jackie met. As everyone knows by now, my readers and I are a bit romantically inclined. (laughs)

Deous's Wife Jackie

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: When Jackie and I met we had both been in bad relationships and definitely didn’t want to go down that road again. I’ll tell you how we met, but you can’t laugh. Well, maybe you can chuckle a little. (laughs) I had a friend who talked about this website called E-Harmony. Of course I laughed hysterically and even mocked him because I thought all dating sites were just a waste of time. He swore it was different and explained they had some kind of profiling exam. I laughed even harder. Anyway, finally I decided it couldn’t hurt and I could always tease my friend later.

Jackie and I almost instantly popped up on each other’s profile. We had all the same interests and even similar backgrounds since I had been a medic and she a phlebotomist (a legal Vampire, someone who draws blood). We both also had a background in music and loved the arts. Most importantly we both seriously wanted a family and someone to grow old with. Jackie had a son named James from a previous relationship and I had my son Josh.

We dated for a while before introducing our children into the mix. Jackie and I fell in love and we have been together ever since. We now have another son, Jaron, and our cross-over to the dark side was complete. (laughs) Just kidding… They’re wonderful kids. Jackie and I dubbed our family Sector J-5, since everyone’s name starts with a J. All our kids love Transformers and so we stole the idea from Sector 7.

As far as the business is concerned, Jackie is one of my associate producers and the creative mind behind many of our projects. She is also one of the first to read and edit the scripts. As for the boys, Josh is in a Zombie film I’m working on and James just debuted in a horror concept film called Clown, directed & written by Bill Read.

Family is always a challenge to juggle with our lives and careers, but we are committed to family first. I have incorporated this into my company philosophy: when I schedule shoots I also leave room for my staff to spend time with their family. I decided long ago I never want to cause another family to fall apart. My studio is set up to be a family-friendly environment.

Betty Dravis: Well, Deous, I have the same reaction when I see those E-Harmony ads on TV today. But now I know it can work, so I’ll try not to laugh in future. As for you, a man who puts family first can’t be all bad. (laughs) I got a chuckle out of Jackie being a “vamp.” My daughter Mary Lee was a phlebotomist for a while too. Jackie might get a kick from this, but when a woman asked her what that was, she jokingly said, “A brain surgeon.” We couldn’t believe the woman believed her.

Another of your outstanding humanitarian traits, Deous, is that you have an incredible passion for uplifting and encouraging people. I read in your bio that this passion was sparked by studying great leaders such as John C. Maxwell, George Lucas, Steven Spielberg and Patrick Daugherty. Tell us how they inspired you. I would also like to know if you have personal mentors that inspired you to great things.

R. J. Gennari, Exec. Producer/Exec. Director/Co-founder of Area 51 Productions

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well Betty, John C. Maxwell is a motivational speaker and teaches thousands of executives how to change their thought process from negative to positive. I met him once and his personality was infectious. Patrick Daugherty was a professor from Pierce College who encouraged and pushed me on the road I’m on now. I’ll discuss George Lucas and Steven Spielberg later.

I have always believed it is important to have mentors in our lives. My father is at the top of the list. He inspired all the research for our current project and helped found Area 51 Productions. Whenever I have a question about a problem or situation, he is the first person I call.

Others would be Elizabeth Sierra-Arruffatt and Jeff Silverman. Elizabeth is the Area 51 senior photographer and has been with me from the inception. She’s also one of the first people I call to discuss an idea for feedback. She is always a positive inspiration to me and everything we are trying to accomplish. Jeff is our I.T. manager. The great thing about him is he is a very technical and logical guy. Whenever I am in a dilemma, I know I can always call Jeff and never worry about getting bashed. He always gives me a straight-up answer about why he thinks I should or shouldn’t handle something a certain way. His answers are always logical and basically unarguable. This is great for me because I am very much a person to try to look at things from every possible angle.

Another would have to be Diane Matson. I cast her as one of my leading actresses, but I soon found I wanted her production input and guidance. She is also one of my lead script editors for the We Were Vampire franchise (as well as this interview). I respected her input and friendship so much I offered her a co-ownership in one of our current franchise projects AWL.

Chrissy K. McVay, Author of "Souls of the North Wind"

Last, but surely not least, is your friend and mine, Chrissy K. McVay. When I first started writing my novel, I knew I needed someone who had done what I was trying to do in order to accomplish it. I knew nothing except how to tell a story. I sought out Chrissy with the sole intention of earning her trust and respect, hoping she’d be willing to guide me. It worked! (laughs) Chrissy also become a highly-respected friend. When she speaks, I listen in complete silence, just absorbing. She not only inspired me, but also provided encouragement every step of the way. I cannot say “Thank you!” enough. So hugs to you, Chrissy! You’re awesome!

Betty Dravis: Oh, I agree with you about Chrissy—she’s not only a fine writer, she’s very knowledgeable and a great person to have in one’s corner. In fact, she’s the one who recommended that Chase Von interview me for Student Operated Press. We put our heads together and decided to jointly publish our celebrity interviews in the first Dream Reachers book. And now we’re working on a second in the series (which is where this interview will be published in print form). I owe Chrissy big hugs too. (laughs)

Now for the big news—AREA 51 Productions! I’ve heard such positive things about your special program that I’m dying to know all about it. Deous, this seems like a natural progression and a perfect way for you to celebrate all your accumulated achievements in one huge project to benefit many people. I sense that this is the biggest dream of your life, so please tell us all about it: Exactly what is it? Where did you get the idea? And how does your plan differ from what others in film are doing?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: First, you are absolutely right! It is the biggest dream of my life and, of course, a huge undertaking. I founded Area 51 Productions back in the beginning of 2009. I wanted to establish the largest studio in Washington which could also give a wide array of jobs to unemployed artists and production people. The goal was to establish a company where writers and story creators have active voices alongside the director of the films. So often, stories are ruined because the “Powers That Be” don’t consider the story the writer initially envisioned. So I wanted to make the writers and creators an active part of the film-making process.

We also plan to have positions available for students, perhaps with scholarships or as interns.  It’s so hard for students to go from graduation to landing a job without any real experience. Area 51 will provide that by assigning them to a department in their area of expertise so they can actually work on a real film project.

So my creative team and I sat down and drew plans for a self-contained, green-friendly studio. The building houses many different departments, including an art studio, sound studio, CGI, special effects, and even a small movie theatre to view the final mix before the project is wrapped and packaged for distribution.

Our goal is to create a creative environment where directors, producers and crew can have all the major elements right at their fingertips. Then I sat down, wrote up a business plan and decided to apply for a Federal Business Grant to pay for start-up costs.

Auditions

Betty Dravis: With so many people obsessed with breaking into the movie business, this program sounds ideal for helping larger numbers of them. Just where are you currently with Area 51, Deous?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well, Betty, when the economy crashed, all the grant money disappeared (to bail out all the car and bank companies), so the startup companies (trying to help stabilize the economy) were left hanging.  While working to acquire funding for the studio, we pooled our resources and started production on a few film projects. My staff has been very patient with the process. I can’t thank them enough for all their support. Now we are looking for investors or financial backing for the company. This dream is so big it will take many more people to accomplish it.

Betty Dravis: The economy has devastated and derailed millions of people, Deous, but with so many loyal people determined to work with you to make it happen, it can’t fail.

I’ve heard a lot about one of your productions, We Were Vampire. Tell us about that and other films you might have made. I also saw a poster for Art of the Sacred. Is that another project of Area 51?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: We Were Vampire started in 2009 with a novel I conceptualized and wrote called The Sacred. After I wrote the initial 274-page manuscript, I handed it off to Jenn and Jesse Jefferis, who helped shape the text and also contributed to the story. We Were Vampire was originally a short film to advertise the book by using it as a prop. As I wrote the script, I quickly realized this was actually a modern-day continuation of the story. At that point, my co-writers encouraged me to continue and turn it into a feature.

It is a very unique take on the whole vampire concept. It took Rick Gennari (Co-owner, Area 51 Productions) and me about ten years to research the ancient history linked to The Sacred and We Were Vampire. We Were Vampire is now a film trilogy and a continuation of The Sacred novel trilogy, which combined, is called The Sacred Vampire Saga. This franchise has become at least as large as Lord of the Rings. We are now starting the pre-production process by filming webisodes to help advertise this project online.

I have also been working on publishing the first novel in The Sacred trilogy, Genesis of the Forsaken. The book is nearly ready for a final edit and should get published this year. I am so excited about the books and can’t wait to see what the public thinks. All the reviews so far have been excellent–and that was in its rough format.

In addition to everything else, I have also been collecting illustrations for the trilogy. Eventually, these will be published in a separate book, The Art of The Sacred, with all profits going to the illustrators.

Betty Dravis: Books! Now you’re talking something I understand, Deous. (laughs) I’m excited for you—the films and the books. Since you’re such a dynamo—acting, singing, dancing, directing, producing, writing—that probably keeps you in shape without the need for much exercise, but I’m curious… You appear very agile in all your photos, so what is your secret for good health and vigor?

Illustrations for "Art of the Sacred" will be published in book form.

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well, as you can tell, I keep myself extremely busy between business, writing, directing and family. Eating healthy is always a challenge. The important thing is not necessarily to eat three times a day but throughout the day instead. The biggest meal of the day should be breakfast and lunch, not dinner. Keep each snack-meal small enough to curb your hunger, rather than until you’re full, and you will maintain a much faster metabolism.

Betty Dravis: That’s sensible, Deous; many doctors confirm the wisdom of  “smaller meals, more often.” But what’s a typical day like for you?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: From now until we get the studio built, I work from home, which is great because I also get to look after my three-year-old. So a normal day for me… Well, what is normal? (laughs) Jackie and I get up between six-thirty and seven a.m. and I make us both a latté. Usually, that is a fancy name for an overpriced coffee, but we have an espresso machine so we can make them inexpensively.

After Jackie is on her way to work, I sit down, check my company emails and respond. If I am in the middle of a writing project, I’ll work on that for an hour or two before making business calls or working on preproduction notes. Somewhere in all of that I’m feeding my son breakfast, or occasionally taking him out for a Danish for some father-son bonding time. Then it’s lunch and making sure my two older boys get their homework done before making dinner. After the kids are in bed, I settle in for another couple hours of either writing or video editing. That’s probably as close to an exact schedule as I can get. Things change sometimes, so I just adapt to situations and go with it. It’s the number one lesson I learned from the military–adapt!

Betty Dravis: That seems like a comfortable, productive schedule, Deous. One more question about your great state of Washington: Does Washington have a film festival? I, for one, would love to see an Area 51 Film Festival that features only movies produced by you, your staff and the school students. Is that a practical dream for the near or distant future?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: I’m glad you mentioned that because an Area 51 Film Festival is completely practical. We are working on a program called the NW (North West) Local Film Production Support Program. The program creators are Ken Dietiker, Rick Gennari and me. This program offers filmmakers up to $50,000 from in-house grant money to produce projects which will be shown at the Festival. Both the festival audience and the Area 51 Production staff will vote on their favorite films. The winners will be submitted to other festivals around the world at our expense. Right now, the program is set to house twenty films. Of course, as we grow, the festival will then have the ability to expand as well.

Betty Dravis: I’m pleased to hear that; sounds like your plans are all-inclusive.

Since you’re actually living your dream by doing what you enjoy doing most, what advice can you offer to others who aspire to be in any part of the movie industry?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well, first, establish a good, reliable work habit. Second, for anyone who aspires to do anything great, the greatest advice I could give is never give up; it’s the difference between failure and success.

Case in point: Thomas Edison was once asked why he didn’t give up and why he was willing to fail over 10,000 times while trying to create the light bulb. Many people called him crazy and laughed at him. His response was, “I didn’t fail 10,000 times. I simply found 10,000 ways it wouldn’t work.” So remember, failure is never final or certain until you quit.

Betty Dravis: Good advice, Deous! I haven’t heard that story about Edison, but have heard some inspiring ones about Henry Ford. (laughs)

Now since show business, like real life, is made up of both drama and humor, I’m sure you’ve had some embarrassing moments during your long career. Please share one of those funny things with us.

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well, Jackie’s friend Lynn, her son Michael and I were all joking around one day. Just for fun, Michael and I were trying to one-up each other. He said something about the English language and, of course, going for the instant kill I said something like, “Well, it’s a good thing the English language has twenty-seven letters in the alphabet then, huh?” Instantly, everyone in the car got quiet and stared at me. “What?” I asked.

Everyone broke out laughing and Michael said, “You mean twenty-six.”

Trying to cover my mistake, I responded “That’s what I said.” Of course we all knew that was absolutely not the case. Anyway, to this day Michael calls me “Mr. 27.”

Betty Dravis: That sounds like something I would do, Deous, so I empathize with you. Yeah… right! (laughs)

If you were given the chance to spend an entire day with one famous movie director or producer who would you choose and why?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Great question! That would have to be Mr. George Lucas. I’m so glad I can finally tell you why he is so important, as a mentor to me. I’ve studied his career as a director and producer all my life. His is the perfect rags-to-riches story for anyone who wants to be a filmmaker. He wrote a huge Galactic Opus and went through so many struggles just to see the first film completed. When making his next film, his struggles only intensified because he dropped out of several guilds due to their unfair politics. Still he endured. By his third Star Wars film, Return of the Jedi, he’d lost his wife through a divorce. Yet he didn’t quit. Now he is one of the most respected directors of all indie film directors.

While I was setting the foundation for Area 51, I looked at Lucasfilm Ltd. as a model. Although we have never met, I have the utmost respect for him. I would definitely hang out with him for a day, just so I could learn more from him.

Betty Dravis: I wouldn’t mind that myself, Deous. He’s quite the man! But now, since the world is in such chaos at present, if you could influence any one thing in the world, what would you choose to change and why?

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: I wish people would listen to each other more. We have two eyes, two ears and one mouth. That’s twice as many types of input as output. If we would take that to heart and really listen to one another there would be far less anger in this world. This answer is simple and short, but please think about it…

Betty Dravis: I have often had the same idealistic thought and feel that the difference in backgrounds and experiences is what keeps that from happening, but that’s food for much thought.

Most artists receive a vast array of kudos throughout their careers. One of my personal favorites is from a book review written by a woman whose long-awaited trip to Russia was interrupted because her husband had a heart attack. She wrote that while he was in surgery she read one of my books, Millennium Babe: The Prophecy, and it took her mind off what was going on inside the operating room, thus sparing her a great deal of stress. Needless to say, learning that my book had helped her in such a special way made me happy. Can you think of one example of a compliment that really made your day? Whatever you wish to share…

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: The best compliments I ever received were from the Area 51 Production core staff members who came alongside me throughout this process and didn’t quit. They helped encourage and guide me while remaining steadfast. This is incredible to me because the journey hasn’t always been easy. Like any company, we get our share of knocks, bumps and bruises, but nothing fazes them. My staff helps keep everything on course and don’t get hung up on the insignificant stuff, so I would like to thank them publicly: Thanks so much to Jenn and Jesse Jefferis, Ken Dietiker, Christopher Hoard, Jackie Gennari, Jeff Silverman, Raemenn Jewall, Elizabeth Sierra-Arruffatt, Richard James Gennari, Dannie Baldwin, Mark Rosenwald and Diane Matson.

The Core Staff of Area 51 Productions

Betty Dravis: That’s incredible, Deous, and says a lot about them, about you and about the entire concept of Area 51… Loyalty is a divine thing, in my opinion. Now before we finish, I’d like to offer you the chance to discuss anything of importance that I may have missed.

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Well, I just wanted to let everyone know that there are several ways to get involved or become familiar with this exciting project. As I mentioned earlier, we have been working on putting the funding together for the first film, We Were Vampire, and are looking for investors. For anyone who is interested, you can go to the We Were Vampire – Web Series & Feature Film Project on www.kickstarter.com.

You can also go to Amazonstudios.com and leave a review for the script and story. We Were Vampire is ranked sixth out of 497 projects in the Action Adventure category. We would love to hear your input, so please feel free to do that as well.

For more info about this project you can also visit www.wewerevampire.com We are very proud of this project and the entire The Sacred Vampire Saga. It is going to be like nothing anyone has ever seen before.

Betty Dravis: I wish you and your staff “God Speed” in raising funding for this very necessary, exciting project, Deous. Any saga cut from the same cloth as the legendary LOTR is sure to be magnificent. I read a portion of one of the scripts and I’m overwhelmed by the entire concept. This is one I’m on pins and needles to view.

I’m reluctant to leave you because your projects are all so exciting, but all good things must come to an end. Please keep us in the loop because we’re eager to see this promising saga on the big screen. I hope it’s soon.

Meanwhile, your fans can visit your various websites for more information:

Area 51 Productions - www.area51productionsllc.com

We Were Vampire – www.wewerevampire.com

Kickstarter.com - www.kickstarter.com

Amazon Studios - www.amazonstudios.com

IMDB Resume - www.imdb.com/name/nm3926980/resume

Facebook - www.facebook.com/area51productions

Well, that’s it for now, Deous. I’ve enjoyed visiting with you. It’s been enlightening to learn about Area 51 and your plans for the future. We all wish you best of luck, and once again I’d like to congratulate you for your innovative idea that will help more people fulfill their dreams. Thanks for visiting with us and sharing your life…your dreams.

Joshua “Déous” Gennari: Thank you, Betty I have enjoyed being here. Of course I will send you updates, photos, and will keep you posted on Area 51 Productions. Thanks so much for interviewing me.  Feel free to contact me anytime.

