The Dames are pleased to have author Georganne Spruce with us today. Welcome, Georganne! Tell us about your latest book.

attd_kindleAwakening to the Dance: A Journey to Wholeness is a memoir of my spiritual journey. It was my desire to become authentically who I was, apart from society’s stereotypes of women in the 1950s and 1960s, and find a life where I could follow my passions for dance and writing, find a soul mate, and integrate my spirituality into everyday life. As I tell the stories of relationship, health, family and career challenges, I explore how I was able to use meditation, Buddhist and Science of Mind (law of attraction) teachings, a fear-releasing technique, Jungian dream interpretation, and other practices to expand my awareness and create the life I wanted. I hope others are able to learn from what I’ve experienced.

Can you share a little bit about what you’re working on now or what’s coming next?

I plan to write a small book on how to release your psychological fear. I teach workshops on the technique I have used effectively for years, but I want to reach more people. Fear is at core of every negative thought, emotion and action, so by releasing it, we remove most of the blocks that keep us from living the life we want.

What is a typical writing day like for you?

I start round 9:00 and work for 3 hours. I may return in the afternoon to do some rewriting, but not always.

Who are your favorite authors, the ones you read when you should be doing something else? Why do they appeal to you?

I like Barbara Kingsolver, Margaret Atwood, Alice Hoffman, Alice Walker because I can relate to their female characters. Lately I’ve been reading mysteries, Michael Connelly, Sue Grafton, and Sue Grimes. How a writer can create so much suspense fascinates me, and these balance the deeper reading I do. On the spiritual side, I often reread Eckhart Tolle and Oneness by Rasha, and they just take me deeper and expand my understanding of life.

Promotion is a big—and usually the most hated—part of being a writer. Can you share a little bit about how you promote?

I’m still really learning about this, but I do have a page on Facebook and I started an inspirational blog, Awakening to the Dance, two years ago to attract readers. I’m also doing book signings and networking with writing, spiritual, and business groups.

How long have you been writing?

All my life, but I didn’t seriously start trying to be published until 2006 when I finally had a few essays and poetry published.

Who or what has been the biggest influence in your writing career and why?

First of all, my mother taught me to love books. When I was fourteen, she shocked the local librarian by allowing me to read Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead. I learned so much about through books and that motivated me to want to write, but I fell in love with modern dance and pursued it first because I could only do that with a young body. Surprisingly, I learned a great deal from dance about creativity, especially improvisation, that was a great preparation for writing. I love to experiment and don’t always need to know what comes next. After I stopped dancing, I started taking writing classes and began writing more often, but teaching full-time left me little time to write until the last few years.

Also, as a teenager, I was very influenced by Edsel Ford, an Arkansas poet, long since passed, who was a family friend. He encouraged my poetry writing and inspired me to believe I had talent.

What do you consider the single most satisfying aspect of being a writer? Inspiring people. So many people live their lives in an unconscious way, missing out on who they really are at a deeper level or accepting a life that isn’t satisfying. I love it when what I’ve written awakens a reader or makes a difference in someone’s life.

Where do you find inspiration for your writing?

000_0031(2)In the daily events of life. I live in the south and every southerner has a story. I have a conversation, read something, or experience something and it sets my mind to working. I start asking questions: What does this mean? Why did this person do that? What are the consequences? I’m curious about everything, but I am most interested in how we see ourselves and what guides our lives. I see this as a spiritual journey

If you could talk for thirty minutes with any author (or person), living or dead, who would it be?

Jean Houston. I loved her memoir, A Mythic Life.

What is your strongest and/or your weakest area in the creative process?

I don’t like plotting. I love character development. I wrote Awakening to the Dance like a novel so, although the story already existed, I had to create a structure in which to organize the story. That was challenging because the main story is an internal journey.

Any good suggestions for overcoming writer’s block?

I don’t like the word block. It’s a pause—time to let things germinate. When I don’t know what to write next, I wait and ideas usually come. If they don’t, I take a break, go outside, or have a snack. When I go to bed, I ask, “What do I need to do with this?” Sometimes, I get the answer in the middle of the night or the next morning. But I’m not writing on deadline so I have this luxury.

To find out more about Georganne and her work, go to:

Blog: http://awakeningtothedance.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/georgannesprucewriter?ref=hl

