The Kildares at Grandfather Scottish Games, NC

The Kildares at Grandfather Scottish Games, NC

Music has a way to make things better and inspiring me while writing. When I’m feeling frustrated, I can turn on the music and feel 100% better. The type of music distresses my mine and helps me focus. It aids me in writing fight scenes and keeping the tension in my writing.

I use music for multiple projects and daily activities. When I’m at work and I need to block out the office noise and while I’m writing, my headphones go over my ears. At home my writing desk is located in the dining room and there are all kinds of distractions: TV, people coming and going.  When I’m ready to sit down to connect with my characters and not be disturbed (at least that’s what I tell my family the head phones are for—they don’t always listen) I put my headphones on, start up my playlist, and I’m ready to go.

But how does it soothe the soul? I’m not sure in the science of it all, but I do know that music speaks to me. Certain types of music can influence my mood and inspire a certain scene in my books. If I had a bad day and need to relax, I put on my soothing playlist which consist of a mix of classical music to soft rock. When I’m in a good mood or writing a fight scene, the playlist is hard rock.

My general playlist for my books is made up of songs that are close to my characters’ personality and/or the plot. For example, the playlist for my latest release, Death’s Strom, is a mixed of hard rock, a little R&B and a few soft pop music. My heroine, Khloe, is an elemental witch who plays by her own rules. She is emotional in the sense that she doesn’t hold back and she’s not afraid to voice her opinion and not afraid to show her happiness or sadness. Her death demon and guardian, Jagger has his hands full in keeping her safe from the demons who want to capture her for her powers.

Death's Storm by Lia Davis

Death’s Storm by Lia Davis

Death’s Storm:   Technical genius and demi-goddess–aka Divinity–Khloe Bradenton relies on no one for help, and she definitely doesn’t need comfort from anyone other than her twin. After her parents died by the demons’ hands over two years ago, she has graciously stepped up to her place in the war between demons and witches. When a creature far more dangerous than the ones responsible for killing her parents claims he is her guardian, she is torn between her desires for the dark predator and the painful loss she has endured at the hands of her enemies.     Now Available at Amazon

 Lia Davis is a mother to two young adults and two very special kitties, a wife to her soul mate, a paranormal romance author, graphic designer, and co-owner to Fated Desires Publishing, LLC. She and her family live in Northeast Florida battling hurricanes and very humid summers. But it’s her home and she loves it!

  ~~ GIVEAWAY ~~

Lia is giving away a swag pack to two randomly chosen commenters.

