Linn B. Halton, romance author

Linn B. Halton, romance author

It’s that time of the year when love is in the air as Valentine’s Day looms! My favourite is to walk by the florists on the 14th and see the young guys wander in, nervous and unsure about what to buy. The pressure is on to make a grand romantic gesture and some have it cracked, whilst others flounder.

Of course, most husbands/partners can relax in the knowledge that they know and understand what their loved one will appreciate. That’s one of the advantages of having a long-term partner, you know each other well enough to conjure up the perfect gift or surprise. It’s a time when giving is as pleasurable as receiving and it’s heart-warming. Gifts don’t have to be big or expensive, just thoughtful.

I write about romance so I find it interesting to see how different people react and handle the romantic season. But my stories are really about life, love and romance – life with the baggage attached, real love situations and frustrations. I also tackled love/life/romance through the ages when I wrote The Restaurant @ The Mill. It is six love stories, the ages ranging from the very young newly-weds to a couple in their twilight years. Love has no age limit and the point I was making was that each story was about the pursuit of happiness.

I was born an optimist – I’m a glass half-full type of woman! So for me ‘caring’ for someone is in the small details. The little kindnesses and thoughtful things we do for loved ones without really thinking about it. It’s also why I think that Valentine’s Day is for the youngest of loves – note I’m not saying that in terms of age of the lovers, but in terms of the length of their relationships.

It’s a bit like Christmas. When you are young it’s the most exciting time because you look forward to the presents. As you grow older the presents become less important and it’s more about the people you spend time with during the festivities.

For me, the romantic gestures my husband makes throughout the year carry far more meaning than the bouquet of flowers I’ll receive on Valentine’s Day. And the same applies to the heart-shaped chocolates I’ll be buying for him! It’s a token gesture to each other, but the ‘love’ is in the time we take throughout the year to re-kindle our romance. Surprise weekend breaks we spring on each other; the ‘unexpected’ meal out and our regular ‘date’ night. We both lead very busy lives and recognise the need to make an effort to spend ‘quality time’ with each other.

The important thing is that whenever we are together and relaxing we still feel that ‘feel good’ factor and we’re ‘lovin’ it!’

Thank you lovely ladies for inviting me back – one of my first appearances when I began writing was on the Dames of Dialogue. A special thank you to Maggie, who has inspired me to want to visit the Appalachian mountains…

Never Alone - Linn B Halton

Linn B. Halton writes contemporary women’s love stories that reflect life, but you are always guaranteed an ending that won’t disappoint!

Love, life and beyond… but it’s ALWAYS about the romance!

Linn signed with US publishing house Sapphire Star Publishing in 2012; The Quintessential Gemini, a heart-warming romance was released in June 2012 and The Restaurant @ The Mill, a collection of life/love stories based around an old mill, was released in August 2012. Linn is a member of the RNA.

Linn also has two self-published books – Touched By The Light (a psychic romance that will make you think) and Being A Sceptic Is Oh So Easy (a diary of events/true story).

Linn is a featured new Author loveahappyending.com and also one of the Editors on the website’s magazine-style blog.

Linn’s links:

Website 
A loveahappyending.com author
Signed by:http://www.sapphirestarpublishing.com/linnbhalton
Twitter: @LinnBHalton
Facebook: Linn B Halton
Romantic Novelists’ Association page

Amazon.co.uk (buy)
Amazon.com (buy)

