Welcome to Dames of Dialogue, Pam! Tell us about your latest book, The World at War.

The World at War is the second book in the exciting Four Horsemen Series. Join General Alexander Ludlow as he continues on his mission to save the world. At least that is what he thinks that Operation Dark Angel is all about. He is however starting to suspect that this mission is not all that it’s cracked up to be. The world is in complete chaos as major nations wage war on each other and the world is on the brink of World War III. 

The Group is secretly continuing Operation Dark Angel with much success. Unknown to the rest of the world pamfunkethey are the ones who are behind the strange and devastating attacks on Israel and around the world. What is it that they are really after when they are supposed to be bringing peace to an out of control world? 

Italian President Nicolaitanes Balac is steadily gaining political power and recognition. The entire world is watching this one man and wondering if he will be the one to save them from the chaotic spiral that the world is headed towards. Is he really who he appears to be or is he something much more sinister? Can he save the world? Do we even want him to? Is this who mankind should rely on for help or will this be the worst mistake that mankind has ever made?

Can you share a little bit about what you’re working on now or what’s coming next?

I am currently working on a book entitled A Valley Experience. It’s about a young woman’s trials and tribulations during her search for God.

When you’re writing, who’s in control, you or the characters?

I am in control, although sometimes my characters protest. (LOL)

Who are your favorite authors, the ones you read when you should be doing something else? Why do they appeal to you?

James Patterson, Joel Rosenberg, Mary Higgins Clark, Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins. I love how they pull you into their books to the point where you don’t want to stop reading until you’ve finished the entire book.

Promotion is a big—and usually the most hated—part of being a writer. Can you share a little bit about how you promote?

I use a lot of social networking to advertise my work and get my name out there. I also create flyers, bookmarks to hand out and leave at various businesses. I also get out and talk to people about my books.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since I was a child. I just never really completed and published a novel until recently.

Who or what has been the biggest influence in your writing career and why?

My family has been my biggest influence. I know that if I write something that even the pickiest reader enjoys then I’m doing pretty good.

What do you consider the single most satisfying aspect of being a writer?

Having your reading audience enjoy your novels.

Tell us a little bit about where you live.

I live in a small military town in Georgia.

Who were your favorite authors as a child? Have they influenced your writing career in any way?

Stephen King, Madeline L’engle, EB White and JRR Tolkien.

Where do you find inspiration for your writing?

All around me, ideas are constantly popping into my head.

If you could talk for thirty minutes with any author (or person), living or dead, who would it be?

James Patterson.

pfunke.theworldatwarWhat is your strongest and/or your weakest area in the creative process?

My strongest area in the creative process is my ability to write in a way that draws in my audience and keeps them captivated throughout the book.

How many hours a day do you write, where, any specific circumstances help or hurt your process?

Not really sure how many hours a day that I write because when I write it’s like all of time has stopped and all of a sudden hours and hours have gone by and I wonder where all the time went.

What are your thoughts on the standard writing advice, “write what you know”?

I think that it is important to know what you are writing about as it makes your book more believable. It’s kind of hard to write or talk about something that you know nothing about.

How do you classify yourself as a writer? Fiction or non-fiction? Specific genre such as mystery, short story, paranormal or more general such as women’s fiction, Appalachian, etc.

I classify myself as a Christian Fiction thriller writer.

Beside “writer,” what else are you; what is your “day job”?

I am a Recreational Aid on a military base.

What is your VERB? (This is a big poster at a local mall)? If you had to choose ONE verb that describes you and you behavior or attitude, what would it be?

Outgoing.

Describe your writing process once you sit down to write—or the preliminaries.

When I sit down to write (well type) I either have my IPod playing music or a movie that I’ve seen a million times to listen to. Then I relax and allow my mind to start picturing what I’m writing about and start writing down what I see.

Where do you get your ideas?

They just sort of pop in my head.

Any teachers who influenced you…encouraged you or discouraged?

Back in grammar school we used to have creative writing classes and those teachers always encouraged me to improve my writing and to write more.

Did the classics have any affect on you in your formative years? (Shakespeare? Alice in Wonderland? Gulliver’s Travels?)

They captured my attention and helped to add to my love of reading. I still like to go back and read them sometimes.

Have you bought an e-reader? What is your overall impression of electronic publishing?

Yes I own a Nook. While I like the fact that you can carry a whole library at once, there is still nothing like holding an old-fashioned pfunkebooktourbook in your hands.

How do your characters “come” to you? Are they based loosely or closely on people you know?

They just sort of come. They’re partially based on people that I actually know but they’re unique all on their own.

Any good suggestions for overcoming writer’s block?

Take a break from that particular project and see if anything else comes to you. Eventually if you are meant to write that particular book then you’ll be able to start writing on it again.

Author bio: Pam Funke is the grand-daughter of a Pastor and was brought up in the church. Her love of reading led her to write. She lives in Hinesville, Georgia  with her son and daughter.

Links:

Book trailer: http://youtu.be/r7nTbp5l_H0

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5751293.Pam_Funke

Blog: http://thefourhorsemenseries.blogspot.com/

Website: http://www.amazon.com/Pam-Funke/e/B00949V7KK/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Four-Horsemen-Series-Fan-Club/246913845377700

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/4HorsemenSeries

