Blood Hoax by Patti Brooks

Blood Hoax by Patti Brooks

Tell us one strange and provocative tidbit from your life that nobody has heard before.How many people do you know that actually jumped out of a cake?  I did that, but the icing on that cake is that I jumped my horse out of a horse-sized birthday cake while the surrounding crowd of hundreds cheered me on with raised champagne glasses. It was all in celebration of the Morgan horse bicentennial.

–Tell us about your latest book.
Blood Hoax, the second in my horse mystery series, came out this summer.  Two major issues propel the reader forward. Horse trainer, Ike Cherny (who we met in the first book, Fame & Deceit, is about to ask Tuleigh to marry him when she disappears. All she has left behind is the GPS she used to travel to clients from Maine to Long Island. The GPS has 43 saved destinations, all identified by a man’s name. Ike sets out to travel to each destination in the hopes someone may know where Tuleigh is.  After traveling to a number, he realizes he’s being watched by members of the local Nardozzi crime family.  In addition, Ike’s boss on the farm expects him to turn out world class show horses. But rumors are mounting that the horses he trains might be counterfeit. If someone is really playing with their DNA, Ike will be kicked out of his career in the horse industry. 
 
–Can you share a little bit about what you’re working on now or what’s coming next?
I’m committed to have the third and final book in this series in print by June, 2014. I’m working on a first draft right now.
 
–What is a typical writing day like for you?
My dogs, cats and horses prefer to start the day about 4:30.  Since they outnumber me,  I comply. After chores and breakfast I go to my “room” that looks out over a pond and although I use a computer, it does not have internet access….and I can’t even play solitaire!  So, I write from +/-8:30 to noon.
 
–When you’re writing, who’s in control, you or the characters?
Definitely my characters. Since I’m now on the third book with basically the same main characters,  I believe I know them pretty well.  I merely ask them “what if?”  and let them take over.
 
–Who are your favorite authors, the ones you read when you should be doing something else? Why do they appeal to you?
Jean Auel who wrote the series set in prehistoric times. I like how she made is feel real.
Wilbur Smith who writes big adventure type books most of which followed generations of a couple of families.I find his books (20+) very satisfying.
James Patterson – I love the escape with easy reading and his trait of letting think everything is resolved then on the next page you find it’s not so.  I also like the way he has given new authors a boost by adding his name to theirs. (Anything Patterson would like a thriller set in the horse world, I like to be considered!)
Anna Lee Waldo– I love her 1000+ page books. The story and the characters stay with you forever. Sacajawea is probably the only book I’ve ever read twice.
 
–Promotion is a big—and usually the most hated—part of being a writer. Can you share a little bit about how you promote?
I love promotion! It’s the icing on the cake for me. But I’m not doing a good job with cyberspace marketing.
 
–How long have you been writing?
I sold my first article to a national magazine when I was 16…..for $4.00
 
–Who or what has been the biggest influence in your writing career and why?
Probably my husband as he nagged me into learning how to use a computer. The ability to “cut and paste” opened up a whole new world for me.  I don’t know how Shakespeare did it!
author Patti Brooks

author Patti Brooks

–What do you consider the single most satisfying aspect of being a writer?When my books sell and readers care enough to buy the next one and tell me they enjoyed my books. I write to entertain readers.

 
–Tell us a little bit about where you live.
On a hundred acre horse farm next to a state forest and 10 miles from the ocean. My husband and carved the farm out of raw land and it’s just about perfect.
 
–Who were your favorite authors as a child? Have they influenced your writing career in any way?
Devoured all of Walter Farley’s  Black stallion books and every single Nancy Drew mystery
 
–Where do you find inspiration for your writing?
From the paths my life has taken me. And from listening closely to what is going on around me and taking that and saying “what if” I turned it inside out?
 
–What are major themes or motifs in your work? Do your readers ever surprise you by seeing something else in your stories than you think you wrote? Absolutely. My first novel Mountain Shadows was popular for book discussion groups and several talk show people spoke about it on the air. One woman told her listeners that it was “all about prejudices.”  A man who has an early morning talk show said it’s “a love story,” and a book discussion group said in unison that it is “all about women helping women.”  Go figure.
 
–If you could talk for thirty minutes with any author (or person), living or dead, who would it be?
Wilbur Smith and Anna Lee Waldo
 
–What is your strongest and/or your weakest area in the creative process?
Strongest: not being afraid to go my own way and not fuss about genre.  Weakest: proofing
 
–What are your thoughts on the standard writing advice, “write what you know”?
Don’t shackle yourself with just what you know. For instance my first novel is set in 1925 during Prohibition and rum running played a big role. I hardly know anything about today’s car’s much less the 1925 ones. But I found an antique car club and they took me on as their project. They advised me on the car my hero needed and proofed all passages with the cars.
 
–Beside “writer,” what else are you; what is your “day job”?
I’m a lifetime horse trainer and breeder. Also spent 20 years as the marketing manager of a real estate company
 
–Have you bought an e-reader? What is your overall impression of electronic publishing?
Love my Kindle and think it is keeping recreational reading doing well.
 

– Why do you write?  To entertain readers

 
Visit Patti’s website http://www.pattibrooksbooks.com/
