Featured in "Perfect for Framing" by Maggie Bishop

Featured in "Perfect for Framing" by Maggie Bishop

My two cats came to us as 9 month old kittens.  They are now almost 2 years old.  According to the age chart at the vet’s office, they are the equivalent of 25 human years old.  Now they are killers.  Almost daily, they bring in a mouse, a mole, or a bird with some life left in them.  Mice with their high pitched squeaks run, hide, then squeak again.  I don’t know if they are warning other mice, calling for help or simply crying in pain.  They can’t be taunting the cats.  By the time I can catch the critter, it is dead or almost dead.  If I let it go, the cats simply bring it back, dead or alive.  I have to throw it as far as I can down the bank (I live on the side of a mountain).  Either I kill it with the toss or the cats killed it before. 

Birds are worse.  I have had two birdfeeders for years.  Have they become death traps?  Should I stop putting in feed and change the feeding habits of hundreds?  Should I continue and let some birds be sacrificed to the cats?  Jemma & Tucker have graduated to catching the birds in flight. 

How long will it be before these cats (who don’t eat their prey) tire of this game and reduce the kill rate from daily to weekly?