mockingbird2

“Your father’s right,” she said.  “Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy.  They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us.  That’s why it’s  a sin to kill a mockingbird.” – Miss Maudie to Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

That’s one of my favorite quotes from my favorite book and movie.  In the movie, Atticus is the one to speak it to Scout, Jem and Walter Cunningham, but in the book, it’s Miss Maudie speaking to Scout.  Of course, it really comes from Harper Lee’s talent and heart and that quote describes her book perfectly.

I feel as if I’m living Miss Lee’s words because I have a mockingbird that comes to my suet feeder every morning and evening.  After it eats its fill, it perches on one of the lower branches of a hackberry tree in my backyard and does exactly what Miss Maudie says, sings its heart out.  I sit and listen in amazement at the variety and number of bird songs that flow from that little body.  And I always feel as if I’ve been given a special gift just for providing a few tidbits of food.

I think a great many of us need to remember the lesson that this mockingbird seems to be relaying to me every day–be grateful for what you receive and always remember to thank the ones who give it to you.

A lesson we all need to learn to live by, don’t you think?

Picture courtesy of  schlumburgers5 on PhotoBucket–thank you for posting it!