My best friends inspire me.

Lori Foster and Duffy Brown. We've been bffs since before either us us were published

Lori Foster and Duffy Brown. We've been bffs since before either us us were published

They are there through thick and thin and show up when everyone else hides and can’t seem to find time for me. I think that’s why I like reading best friend stories. I can relate.

Alpha heroes and strong men doing manly things are always fun in books but I love, love, love it when there are best friends in the stories,too. It’s the girl angle, where they share secrets and help each other when they get into trouble that makes for a great read.

Duffy (author) and Barbie in 60s wedding attire

Duffy (author) and Barbie in 60s wedding attire

After all, when the hero dumps on the heroine, who does she run to? Her best friend. When the heroine does something completely stupid who does she run to? The best friend. Who takes her in when no one else will? Lends her a hundred bucks to buy those new Lucky jeans to impress that special guy or give her the secret family recipe for spaghetti for her first romantic dinner with Mr. Hunky.

Best friends in books can come in all sizes and ages. They can be the girl hated in high school who grew into the best friend when she kept something quiet that the heroin never thought she would or the hairdresser at the corner shop. (It’s amazing what I tell the gal who does my hair. She could so blackmail me!J) The best friend can be the granny, the auntie, the mom.

Patricia Sargeant. Writer friend for more years than I can count

Patricia Sargeant. Writer friend for more years than I can count

I think the best friend story means the most when you are lucky enough to have one…or a few if you are very lucky indeed.  I’ve had a best friend since I was four. Barbie! We have been though marriages, kids, divorce, deaths, you name it,  we’ve been there for each other. Not always in touch as time went on but every few months and dinners now and then. When they say write what you know…I know best friends!

My husband was my best friend for sure, an incredible man but there is something about the woman best friend. She

 Duffy Brown and her bff/daugher Gina whitewater rafting the Grand Canyon

Duffy Brown and her bff/daugher Gina whitewater rafting the Grand Canyon

gets it when you feel like crap when you put on five pounds or she really will tell you if you look bad in a certain dress and those shoes truly do not go with that purse. A hubby simply goes with the flow, he’s happy you’re there and that’s what matters most to him.

You acquire best friends along the road of life. There are the ones that grow up with you like Barbie and me or maybe you were lucky enough to move next door to a woman who became your best friend over the years. Maybe it’s the mother-in-law who moved in with you or a grown daughter.

In all the books I’ve ever written the heroine has a best friend from the girls the heroine played with at school and grew up with to her auntie who lives next door, was a roadie for Cher, teaches ballroom dancing and now helps the heroine solve mysteries on the side.

Iced Chiffon is set in Savannah where Reagan Summerside and her Auntie KiKi run a consignment shop and get involved in the lives of the customers, neighbors, ex husband and the attorney who screwed Reagan over in the divorce.

Are you lucky enough to have a best friend? Where did you meet? What makes her your best friend? What’s the most fun you’ve had together, the toughest things you’ve faced together?

I’ll give away two Duffy Brown totes from the responses…one for you and one for your best friend.

Berkley Prime Crime

Iced Chiffon Facebook