And other lessons I learned on the road. Angie Fox, Author

Harley dog, photo by Angie Fox

It’s no secret I’m a bit of a girly girl. I like my silver jewelry, I own way too many purses and I can spot a nail salon from 100 yards. So it was a bit of a surprise, even to me, when I found myself calling up Harley bikers and asking if we could get together. Oh and if they could possibly bring their dogs?…

But hey, I’m a writer and research is part of the job. In this case, I’d set out to write a paranormal mystery about a straight-laced preschool teacher turned demon slayer who has to run off with a gang of geriatric biker witches. Plus, my heroine has a smart-mouthed dog that, thanks to her new powers, can talk…and talk…and talk.Harley dog #2, by Angie Fox

In order to get the real story on Harley riders (and their dogs) I went online and learned that there is a nationwide club of bikers who ride with their dogs. So my heroine could have her snow white Harley, and her Jack Russell Terrier too.

Of course I had to meet these hard riding dog lovers. Turns out, they were way more friendly than I’d ever imagined. They invited me into their homes, introduced me to their dogs and, like my heroine, the bikers hoisted me up on the back of a Harley, with a dog in tow.

Harley dog 42, Angie Fox, The Last of the Demon SlayersThings I learned right off the bat:

  • After an hour on a Harley, you’ll walk like John Wayne for a week
  • Helmets hurt when they are worn backwards
  • Dogs love riding motorcycles

Stone, the biker who spent the most time making sure I didn’t fall off his hog, showed me how to ride, invited me to some biker rallies (note to self: don’t wear pink next time), and helped make The Last of the Demon Slayers as real as it can be (for a book about a somewhat sheltered preschool teacher turned demon slayer).Harley dog 46 by Angie Fox

So just when I thought I was writing fiction, it seemed my made-up characters from The Last of the Demon Slayers weren’t so imaginary after all. One of the bikers I met even has a wife who is a biker witch. I’m wondering if she, like my heroine’s biker witch grandma, wears a “kiss my asphalt” t-shirt and carries Smuckers jars filled with magic. Maybe I’ll find out on my next adventure.

“The Last of the Demon Slayers” by Angie Fox.  Lizzie Brown would just like to have one normal date. Instead, she gets a towering inferno with a message: her long-lost dad is a fallen angel in danger of becoming a demon. Not good. Especially since she’s a demon slayer.

Her grandma advises her to stay out of it. Her shape-shifter boyfriend would much rather she devote her attention to safer pursuits. And her dog’s one demand is for more bacon. After all, he can’t train his pet dragon on an empty stomach.  But Lizzie knows there’s no other choice but to hop on her Harley and help her father-even the search for the truth brings a bad-boy slayer back into her life and leads her into the middle of a war to end all wars. http://www.angiefox.com/