Nancy Naigle and baby goatI wasn’t always a small town girl. I was born and raised in Virginia Beach, VA. I lived in Tidewater until about six years ago when my husband and I moved further inland to expand our goat operation. We now live on about 80 acres in the far west end of Southampton County where my husband is fulfilling his dreams of raising livestock and I juggle working from home with writing.

People say to write what you know. Well, that may be true but I take that one step further and stand by writing what you love. If you write what’s in your heart, what makes your eyes sparkle when you talk about it, people will feel it on the page.

When it comes to writing I’m still a rookie. My first book, Sweet Tea and Secrets, came out this summer. It’s set in the small Virginia town of Adams Grove. The second book with ties to that small town will be out in November. OUT OF FOCUS is about a woman caught in a web of friendship and betrayal as she desperately searches for her son.

I’ve been visiting libraries, book stores and book clubs and I’ve been getting lots of questions about the goat farm. I thought I’d share some answers with you, here’s the inside scoop:

When did you start raising goats? We started raising goats in 1994. That’s the year I married Mike Holland, yes I kept my maiden name and that’s a whole other story!!, and moved to a small thirteen acre farm in Chesapeake. Neither one of us came from that background, but it was something my husband had always wanted to do.

At first we bought five goats to clear the ditches. A year later we were fencing off pastures and the rest is history. We know run about 300 breeding does on our farm in Southampton County. All of our herd sires are boer goats. Boer goats are generally white with a red head. They are a meat breed so they are much bigger than the goats most people are familiar with. My favorite time is kidding season.

Nancy Naigle with more goatsHow many kids does a goat have and how much do they weigh when they are born?

Goats have a five month gestation period and usually have twins. Most of our kids weigh in at between 7 and 9 lbs. They get right up on their feet and start nursing. We have had does give birth to quads or quints but in that case we usually end up helping feed a couple of them. It’s not optimal since momma only has two faucets!

You live on a farm. That must mean you get up with the sunrise!

Nope. Neither my husband or I get up at the crack of dawn. Our goats have gotten used to our schedule and they get checked in the morning around 8:30am. If you go out to visit them before that, they’re still sleepy. It’s all good!

Are there goats in your books?

So far all of the Adams Grove stories at least have a mention of a goat farm. It’s just fun little way to share an inside connection with the folks that know me J Like you now!

If you have any questions about goats, I’d be happy to answer them.

Out of Focus by Nancy NaigleMeanwhile, I hope you’ll pay a visit to Adams Grove in SWEET TEA AND SECRETS. There are some hometown recipes in the back of the book or you can get a copy of Pearl’s Perfect Sweet Tea recipe on my website at www.NancyNaigle.com/sweettea.htm

Keep an eye out for the second story with ties to that small town. OUT OF FOCUS came out on November 14th.

Here’s the blurb:

Kasey Phillips thought her biggest problem was deciding whether to accept the job to photograph Cody Tuggle’s honky-tonkin’ tour, until an accident on Route 58 claims the life of her husband.

 

In a desperate race against time as a hurricane threatens the eastern seaboard, they search for her three-year-old son who is missing from the wreckage.

 

Family and friends rally to help, but someone knows more than they are telling.

I’m also on facebook, and something for those of you on twitter. My twitter id is @NancyNaigle. I’ve been having fun with a hashtag on twitter #WhatILoveAboutSmallTowns  It would be great if you’d share your thoughts here and on twitter.

 ****

Nancy Naigle writes love stories from the crossroad of small town and suspense. After spending most of her life on the Virginia coast, she and her husband left Tidewater for greener pastures a little further inland in Southampton County. They now live on a 76 acre goat farm where Nancy spends every spare moment working on her next book.

To learn more about Nancy, visit her online at:
www.nancynaigle.com