Today the Dames are pleased to turn the spotlight on paranormal romance author Britt Bury. Welcome, Britt, and happy birthday!

Hi Caitlyn! Happy birthday to you in a few days! Do you have any big plans? Thank you so much for having me today!

You’re welcome and thanks for the birthday wishes! Tell us about your paranormal romance, The Darkest Day.

Well, it takes place in modern day Scotland, however, the immortal race has taken over and humans are extinct…or so everyone thought! Don, don, don! (Those were my sound effects). The hunky Scottish warrior has to protect the mortal female—who is also the last heir to his enemy clan—and somehow outrun a prophecy that could eternally bind them together or extinguish her soul forever.

I have to tell you, Britt, I love your sense of humor! Okay, The Darkest Day is the first book of your Immortal Heat series; can you give us a little teaser about what’s coming next?

*Looks over shoulder then waves you in closer* Okay…so here’s the deal. I can’t eh-say- a whole- latte’…wait…how do you speak pig Latin? Anyway, I can tell you that in book two, you will see another new breed of immortal, get a good glimpse at the underworld realm, and a sassy redhead is tethered to a professional assassin. This is not Ramsey’s book, but he makes some major appearances and you will see a whole different side of him. And book three…may or may not be about a Poet Fionn and a Wolverine Pookah…

 As well as being the first book in your series, The Darkest Day is also your first published book. Congratulations! I remember when I sold my first book—there’s not much that can compare with the feeling. Can you tell us what you did to celebrate?

Congratulations back, girl! Did you pee your pants and vomit in your mouth a little when you held your arc for the first time? Oh…me neither…*glances away*. This whole month I’ve been a nervous wreck. It’s terrifying and exciting all at the same time. But when I had gotten the call from my agent that I had sold, I accidently started screaming profanities, then stood silent in shock, then ran through the house turning on and off all the lights. Does that count as a celebration?

Well, I can honestly say I didn’t do the first two, but I did a lot of running around and screaming—and then I let my husband take me out to dinner since it was also my birthday.

The Immortal Heat series is paranormal romance. I write mainly paranormal romance too but lately, I find myself thinking and plotting in other directions. Are you interested in any other genre? Any chance you’ll try it sometime in the future?

Paranormal is my love. But I am interested in different genres. I am currently working on a couple other projects at the moment that are not paranormal. I’m hoping to branch out a bit and am excited to see where this new endeavor takes me.

Yeah, I love paranormal too, but I had such fun co-writing my last book, a historical fact-based fiction, with my sister, that I’m anxious to finish the last book of my paranormal series so I can move on to something else.

What is a typical writing day like for you?

It starts with coffee and ends with tea. Somewhere in the middle I take my boys to school, swimming, karate and soccer. I clean the toilet and cut the newly crustified play-doh from the carpet. At some point I try to sit down for five minutes at time and hammer out a paragraph before someone starts screaming, crying or bleeding. Do you have kids? I’ve found that having expectations to write during the day doesn’t work. So I typically forego sleep and wake up un-godly early or stay up late to finish a chapter or a scene.

No little ones around my house unless you count the four-legged, furry kind. If you do, I have two spoiled rotten not-so-little boys.

Speaking of driving your boys around, when you write, are the characters in the driver’s seat or do you take control of the wheel and guide them where you want them to go?

They drive me for sure. And sometimes they’re stubborn bee-ot-chez! Yeah, I’m talking to you Ryo! I have days where four-thousand words just pour out and the characters are on a roll. Other days, they hide from me and getting anything decent on the page is a struggle.

Yeah, the heroine of the second book of my Eternal Shadows series was like your Ryo. Betty Sue came very close to making me retire from writing permanently. Thank goodness, I stuck it out!

Who are your favorite authors, the ones you read when you should be doing something else? Why do they appeal to you?

I love Kresley Cole, Larissa Ione and Gena Showalter. They all are very unique, yet have a similar snarky humor I love. I will also drop everything to read Marina Adair. She writes small town cowboys and I love cowboys. Seriously, Kelvin was almost a thousand-year-old immortal Scottish-cowboy-Pookah-warrior. It could have worked, right?

A thousand-year-old immortal Scottish-cowboy-Pookah-warrior? Definitely could’ve worked and it would most likely be tons of fun writing him!

Okay, next up, the bane of every author; promotion. It’s a big part of being a writer and you are currently in the middle of a very busy blog tour. Can you share a little bit about other ways you promote?

I am SO excited about this blog tour. It’s been super fun. I also do random give-aways through my website and on Goodreads. But what I really enjoy is hosting authors on my website. Wanna come over? I’d love to have you!  I’m also doing blog-talk radio and a couple book signings in Anaheim at RWA nationals this year.

Good luck with the signings at RWA! I’ve been a little—okay, okay, a lot lax in my promotions for my paranormal romances lately. But I just finished the third book in my Eternal Shadows series and If I can get my lazy marketing muse into gear again, I’d love to visit your blog.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since I was a kid. It was an outlet for me. But the past five years is when I started pursuing my dream of becoming an author. It was a transition going from writing everyday to writing a book.

Who or what has been the biggest influence in your writing career and why?

My grandmother was the sole source of support for me growing up. She encouraged me when I told her I wanted to be an author and never doubted me for a moment. She died two years ago of ALS. I miss her terribly. I try to apply everything she’s taught me and be the kind of person she could be proud of.

I’m sorry for your loss and I think it’s wonderful that you had her in your life and that she lives on through your accomplishments. What do you consider the single most satisfying aspect of being a writer?

The idea that maybe someone, somewhere out there, likes this crazy story I had in my head is an incredible feeling. If just one person read my book and it made them smile, that’s frickin rockin! When I’ve had a rough week and need to escape, I read. At the end of the day, if someone picks up my book looking for that escape, it is the biggest honor I can imagine.

That is, to me, the best answer we’ve ever had to that question. I know I feel the same way and I’d be willing to bet, so does every other author. Tell us a little bit about where you live.

I am originally from Oregon. Yes, I smell like grass and cows…sorry. Two years ago, my family and I moved to the Silicon Valley in California. I really like it here. Very different from the small town I’m use to, but it’s been an adventure. And did you know that restaurants stay open past eight o’clock? It’s so cool!

Thanks so much for joining us today, Britt! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and hope you’ll come back and visit us often.

Readers, Britt has a little something extra for you today—a chance to win a Kindle Fire! All you have to do is answer this Scavenger Hunt Question:

True or False? Britt had a panic attack in a public bathroom and NYT best-selling author Larissa Ione was the one who calmed her down.

To find the answer and for more information on how you can win a Kindle Fire, visit:

http://www.brittbury.com/blog/Win-a-Kindle-Fire

For more information on Britt and her books, check out the following sites:

Website: www.BrittBury.com
Twitter: @BrittBury
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Britt-Bury/343830518982602
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Darkest-Day-ebook/dp/B007SQUNII/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1340231025&sr=8-1&keywords=britt+bury
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-darkest-day-britt-bury/1108820139
Publisher’s Website: www.forever-romance.com

The Darkest Day:

ALL-CONSUMING DESIRE . . .

Izel Campbell was raised to believe she is an immortal Fionn with the magical skills fo persuasion. But when she travels to Scotland to visit her ancestral home, Izel discovers that she is actually the world’s last living human. Forced to run for her life, Izel crosses paths with Kelvin Kerr, the Campbells’ greatest foe-and the most magnificent warrior she has ever seen.

BURNS BRIGHTEST . . .

A thousand-year-old battle chief of the Kerr clan, Kelvin lives only to avenge his father, who died at the hands of the bloody Campbells. Honor demands he kill the Campbell heir, but when he learns that the lovely Izel is both Campbell and human, Kelvin is torn between duty and desire . . .

ON THE DARKEST DAY

Britt’s Bio:

Britt Bury writes paranormal romance where the immortals are fierce, the stakes are high, and desire can be deadly.

Britt was raised in Corvallis, Oregon and attended Oregon State University majoring in Liberal Studies. When her dream of being a professional karaoke star and Elvis impersonator didn’t pan out, she turned to writing. She currently lives in the Silicon Valley with her brilliant husband, two sons and an obscene amount of fish.

Britt’s first paranormal romance releases July 3, 2012 with Grand Central’s imprint: Forever Yours. Britt is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.