Even though my novel 1106 Grand Boulevard was the first one I wrote, Millennium Babe: The Prophecy was the first to be published. Grand was making the rounds of publishing houses during the submission process when I finished The Babe. I felt that the latter had to get out immediately since it was a new millennium book and the new millennium was fast approaching. With that in mind, I couldn’t wait to submit it to traditional publishers in traditional manner, so actually decided to self-publish this book. Time was of the essence and I could control that with Xlibris, so chose them. They are affiliated with Random House, so are a good company.

The big problem I found in going that route was that they always price the books too high; they justify it with charts and figures, but I actually had little choice. This book had to be out by January 1, 2001…the first day of the new millennium and the 21st Century!

It sold quite well, despite the prices, for about a year, but my other books outsold The Babe because by then I had more traditional publishers (small independents, but good, honest) and much more competitive prices.

With all the competition out there, I began to neglect my first “baby” and concentrate on other, more sure things! Since then I’ve published four more print books, two e-books (with total of five e-books on the market, including Millennium Babe: The Prophecy).

That said, The Babe did get thirty 5-star reviews and one 4-star before I started neglecting it in favor of what I felt were more timely projects.

When Dame Maggie Bishop asked me to publish the first chapter, I decided it was time to do right by my “first-born,” so here we go. I’ll start with the Amazon description:

World chaos erupts when David Wetterman––a popular Silicon Valley weatherman––makes a startling prophecy about the first baby to be born on January 1, 2001: Countries fight over The Millennium Babe; expectant mothers are terrified; abortion rates accelerate. “The Prophet” becomes an international celebrity, forced into hiding when some VIPs threaten his life. With his remarkable TV director, Bitsy Blodgett, by his side, the apocalyptic countdown to the third millennium begins.

As further example of how I have neglected this book, I don’t even have a readable copy of the first chapter. When searching my files, I found that since I had written it on an older version of Windows, the file had gotten corrupted somewhere along the way… So sorry about that. I could have retyped it, but actually don’t have time since I’m working on another book at the moment. See, there I go, being neglectful again. Favoritism, you might shout!🙂

I hope the brief synopsis above and the great reviews on Amazon might help you. If you’re interested, you can always buy a copy at: http://www.amazon.com/Millennium-Babe-The-Prophecy-ebook/dp/B005EY7C3A/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1345779932&sr=1-6

To check all my books, please visit my Amazon Author Central page:
http://tinyurl.com/7kyxajt

My Main website:

http:www.bettydravis.com