Norma Guerra-Stueber, narrator/producer for ACX

Norma Guerra-Stueber, narrator/producer for ACX

Hi my name is Norma Guerra-Stueber, and I’m  narrator and audio book producer. I recently started work with Maggie Bishop on the audio book production of “Murder at Blue Falls: The Horse found the body”.   Maggie and I made contact through the audio book creation exchanged.  ACX.com is really a great tool for both narrators and authors to find each other.   I find that on my end  it’s really easy to go through and search for books that I would be interested in narrating as well as simple for me you upload samples of my work where authors can contact me and asked if I would be interested in auditioning for their book.  It’s really wonderful and I truly enjoy it.  Follow along in audio

I first got interested in audio books several years ago.  I’m actually an avid audio book listener, so that’s part of the reason why I started doing narrations.  The first audio book I ever listen to is probably the one I used for my children for Harry Potter and I’ve got to say I don’t think I’ve ever heard another audio book quite as good as that one it really blew my mind, the characters just came to life.  It was years later before I started listening to other audio books. Now I’m constantly trying to convince  friends and family members to listen to some audio books especially after listening to really good ones.  I never dreamed though that it would be something that I would be doing some day.  But you know it’s something that I just truly enjoy and I’m having so much fun doing.

Murder at Blue Falls by Maggie Bishop (audio), narrated by Norma Guerra-Stueber

Murder at Blue Falls by Maggie Bishop (audio), narrated by Norma Guerra-Stueber

The idea of it actually grew out of something completely different.  You see,  I run a small tax office during the first four months of the year the rest of the time I’m a stay-at-home mom.  Problem is my kids are all grown up and I’m no longer a stay-at-home mom.   I just basically stay-at-home,  so now I guess I’m a stay-at-home grandma? ‘cause I do get the grandkids on occasion.  Anyhow, last year I was working on putting together a commercial for my tax office.  I was told that there was a production company that could put it together for me for a set amount of money and I decided I would try and do it myself.   Since I had all the software and my husband had a small in home music studio, which he uses when he practices his drumming, I figured I’d have all the equipment I needed as well.

So I set to work, put together my video and then realized I needed a voiceover for it.  So I wrote a short script and set to recording, using my own voice of course and voilà a commercial was born.  The thing was, when my brother heard it, he was somewhat impressed and said something like “You know Norma, your voice is really good, you should look into doing voiceovers.”   It was just a thought that hung around the back of my head for months actually.  Eventually I got around to doing some research online about voiceovers and while it was really interesting, I wasn’t that into the idea of doing voiceovers for commercials or other items. But what really got my attention was the fact that I could do audio books.   I just loved the idea.

I was already such an avid listener of audio books and the idea of actually being part of it was just overwhelming and I decided I’ve got the time, I’ll give it a try.  I’ve tried one other website beside ACX but I found ACX to work simpler and easier and I like the fact that there is direct contact between the author and the narrators.  So that’s my story.  That’s how I got started with audio books and I gotta say I wish every book was on audio.  Visit Norma’s ACX page.

Here’s the link to Murder at Blue Falls audio http://dld.bz/audiblemurderatbluefalls

If you love to listen to audio books, please consider Audible.com