purse

purse

When I decided to follow my dream and write mysteries I went with the old adage of write what you know and love. Kids and husband is fine in real life but downright boring in books so instead I went with my job and favorite vacation spot.

Savannah, Georgia, by Duffy Brown

Savannah, Georgia, by Duffy Brown

I adore Savannah, Georgia, and I work in an upscale consignment shop. That’s how the series Consignment Shop mysteries got started.

     Consignment shopping is the fun of wearing designer clothes on the cheap. I could never afford a Coach handbag or an Armani jacket but I do love the expensive look and great quality. Most of all I love bragging to my friends how much I paid! The conversation goes something like, “Oh, isn’t that a great Kate Spade purse.” And my reply is, “I got it at the Snooty Fox for forty bucks!” instead of the usual three-hundred and fifty!

     For years I shopped consignment stores then decided I needed to work at the Snooty Fox since I was there all the time looking for deals. My kids were some of the best-dressed on campus and I did it for K-Mart prices.

Snootyfox

Snootyfox

Don’t you love the name Snooty Fox! The Snoot is an upscale consignment shop. How many times have you bought something, wore it once, decided it wasn’t your color or didn’t fit the way you liked and you were stuck with it? Well, that’s where the Snooty Fox comes in. You can sell your green plaid jacket that you just had to have but then decided you hated at the Snoot. There is a customer out there who will love that jacket and pay you good money for it.

     How this works is that you open an account and hand over your clothes. The Snoot chooses which clothes they will take…it’s called Snooty for a reason, we only take the good stuff. The clothes must be cleaned, pressed, on a hanger, gently worn, in very good condition, and within a two-year style period. The price is a third to a fourth of retail and you get half of that when the item sells. Not a bad deal for something hanging in the back of your closet that you’re never going to wear again!

     Consignment shopping is a lot like solving a mystery. It’s all about the hunt for the perfect scarf, skirt or shoes. I think that’s why the Consignment Shop mysteries seemed like a perfect fit. The hunt is on!

snootyfox3

snootyfox3

     I’m always amazed at where someone’s hobby or special interest leads them. I have a friend who loves to paint and is now doing murals on nursery room walls. Another friend loves to dance, took lessons and met her future husband at an Anther Murray studio? My neighbor loves to talk and give advice and is now a deacon at church and listens to everyone’s problems.

     My cousin is neat-freak…a gene I didn’t inherit. Her place is eat-off-the-floor clean and she turned that obsession into a maid service.

So what about you and your hobbies or special interests? Did you meet a best friend doing your hobby? Your mate at a painting class? Visit a new place? Get an award for perfecting your hobby or even teach a class on it?

     Hobbies enriched our lives and often take us to different places in our lives we never expected…like a murder mystery series. Who would have thought!

Mysteries by Duffy Brown

Mysteries by Duffy Brown

I’ll give away two Killer in Crinoline totes from the answers.  Happy Reading.

Berkley Prime Crime  DuffyBrown@DuffyBrown.com  http://www.DuffyBrown.com  Mystery and Mayhem for Fun and Profit