Welcome to Dames of Dialogue, Chris. Tell us about your latest book, Which Exit Angel.

It’s about an angel who hasn’t received her wings yet and a preacher who is questioning his faith. Together they have to stop the coming fight between good and evil. It’s set down the Shore.

Well, I’m hooked with just three sentences! What is a typical writing day like for you?

My assistant gently wakes me with breakfast in bed and coffee just the way I like it. Oh wait. That’s my fantasy. My writing has to fit chris reddingaround the rest of my day. I usually write in the morning and then again in the late afternoon. Sometimes even at night, but everything depends on whether I have the energy or not. I have a husband and two sons who need things from me so they need to come first.

LOL. Love your sense of humor. And I agree, family first. When you’re writing, who’s in control, you or the characters?

I am a plot-driven writer so I am always in control. I don’t have voices in my head I see movies. I just have to get those movies down on paper.

Movies? That’s interesting and the first time we’ve received an answer like this. How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since I was ten years old. I’ve been writing for publication for about fifteen years.

Tell us a little bit about where you live.

I live in New Jersey. I don’t live in the New Jersey of the Sopranos or Jersey Shore. I actually have woods behind my house and various wild life scampering through my yard including foxes and wild turkeys. My one son is in 4H. You get it. We’re country folk.

I live in the country too and love it. Can’t imagine being an urbanite anymore. Mark Twain said, “Southerners speak music…”  Do you have a favorite southern saying you can share with our readers?

Bless his/her heart. You could say a terrible thing, but add that phrase at the end and it makes it all better.

Gosh, I bet I hear that phrase every day. If you could talk for thirty minutes with any author (or person), living or dead, who would it be?

Julia Child. Remember, she’s a cookbook author. I like to cook and love to bake so I would love to have her show me a few advanced techniques. Besides, she led such an interesting life, she would be so fascinating to talk to.

I loved the movie “Julie and Julia” and the way Julia Child was portrayed. What are your thoughts on the standard writing advice, “Write what you know”?

I think you can start out writing what you know, but I think you can expand it to write what you want to know. My first book had a serial killer in it. Clearly I’m not one, but I was fascinated by them after seeing “Silence of the Lambs”.

chris redding.weaHow do you classify yourself as a writer? Fiction or non-fiction? Specific genre such as mystery, short story, paranormal or more general such as women’s fiction, Appalachian, etc.

I write fiction, mainly suspense, though I’ve got some romantic comedies waiting in the wings.

I love romantic comedies – one of my favorites! Were books an important part of your household when you were growing up?

Huge. Both parents were avid readers and we lived a block away from the library. My siblings were so happy when I was old enough to cross the street to get my own stack of books.

One of my favorite memories as a child is walking to the library with my mom and siblings. Any teachers who influenced you…encouraged you or discouraged?

Mrs. Inman was my English teach Senior year of high school. She taught me everything I know about writing. She also had a passion for books. Once day she closed the blinds, turned off the light and had one candle burning on her desk. She read us A Cask of Amontillado. I remember it so vividly even today.

Thanks for joining us today, Chris! For more information about Chris and her works, visit: http://www.chrisreddingauthor.com/