by Christy Tillery French

Bobby McGee cover - Smashwords ready ... FinalI just finished reading Betty Dravis’s new digital book, a short story titled The Search for Bobby McGee. What a writer! I have always admired Betty’s prolific writing style and ability to write in any genre out there and this one is a definite winner.  I really love the unusual concept of this story and was surprised at the novel ending. It’s only been posted for two days, but I was not surprised to see it listed in Amazon ranking as #5 in Teens and Young Adults Short Reads; #46 in over-all literature. Way to go, Betty…

I also enjoyed reading the praises by other successful writers at the front of book, and the foreword, written by esteemed feature film director Russel Emanuel, was awesome. Betty Dravis certainly has friends in high places.

Since I’m also a fan of Janis Joplin and her biggest hit song, Me and Bobby McGee, I was curious about how this multi-genre author came up with the idea for this story. I was happy to find the answer in her author note in the book. This is what Betty says about writing The Search for Bobby McGee:

betty dravis

Author Betty Dravis

Did you ever have a song that keeps running through your mind for years after first hearing it? Well, it’s like that with Janis Joplin’s version of Me and Bobby McGee. I just can’t get that tune or the melancholy love story out of my mind.

I’ll never forget the passionate performance this legendary performer gave and I often watch it on this video. She moved me to tears…and still does. http://youtu.be/6iX-EcRKXJw

Being human, we all day-dream from time to time, wondering if “the one that got away” was our soul mate or not. With that in mind, I often thought about Bobby and Janis, wondering if he was real and whether she spent her life pining for him. Could he be the reason she became a substance abuser? The reason she died so young?

When I learned that Kris Kristofferson and Fred Foster actually wrote the song and the Bobby in his song was female, then I knew Janis’s Bobby wasn’t real. But he was still real to me and I kept wondering about him. That’s what inspired this story, and I had hoped in writing it that it might exorcise him–and the song–from my mind.

It ain’t working, friends. I suppose, like Janis, I will never forget Bobby McGee.

booksbybettydravis

 I hope all the Dames of Dialogue readers get your copy of this short story. A warm, humorous adventure awaits you…

To get your copy, go to this link:

http://www.amazon.com/Search-Bobby-McGee-Betty-Dravis-ebook/dp/B00R8NG3HQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1419203054&sr=1-1&keywords=the+search+for+bobby+McGee